loctite and the rear site

Discuss .22 pistols.

Moderators: Bullseye, Moderators

CO

loctite and the rear site

Post by CO » Mon May 29, 2006 8:42 pm

I have a Mark III 5 1/2 bull barrel. I was shooting the other day and my rear site completely fell off. Obviously I need a little loctite but I have a few ??s first. Any specific loctite? Where and how do I put the loctite on? And any other help would be great. I have never used loctite before and am new to guns so any help would be freatly apprecitated.

boomer47
Regular contributor
Regular contributor

Post by boomer47 » Tue May 30, 2006 5:26 pm

Take out the smaller of the two screws on the top of the sight base. This is the screw that holds the sight in position Clean it and the hole it goes in with solvent,center the base in the slot, put a drop of BLUE loctite on the threads and tighten it down.
DON"T put loctite on either of the two larger screws.

Bullseye
Site Admin/Host
Site Admin/Host

Post by Bullseye » Tue May 30, 2006 5:32 pm

You want to thoroughlly degrease the receiver's rear sight dovetail slot and the rear sight assembly. Don't forget to remove the holddown screw and degrease the screw's mounting hole. Blue (#242) locktite is a good light duty strength bond, or red (#271) medium strength bond. I'd use the red for the rear sight and the holddown screw. Allow at least 24 hours before using the pistol to give the locktite time to fully cure. Apply some to the dovetail slot and then a small amount to the screw hole. Here's a link to some instructions for removing and replacing the rear sight. Install the sight in the opposite direction from the removal directions. http://www.guntalk-online.com/detailstrip.htm#sight

Hope this helps.

R,
Bullseye

Welcome to the forum!

rugerguy

Post by rugerguy » Thu Jul 27, 2006 9:33 pm