Wanna be an Instructor? Send your boxtops in

This is a place to discuss shooting related topics and techniques.

Moderators: Bullseye, Moderators

greener

Wanna be an Instructor? Send your boxtops in

Post by greener » Sat Oct 21, 2006 6:17 pm

Made my standard weekly trip to the range today. Took a collection including the new M&P 9mm, which I hadn't fired. A group lead by a guy with "Firearms Instructor" arrived about the same time I did. They started happily banging away at 7 yards. Two of the "students" had obviously shot before. One had never fired a handgun. She was having a bit of a problem, not much, with the .40 and .45 recoil, so I did my usual trick of asking if she wanted to practice with one of my .22 pop guns.

The lady shot pretty well for an absolute newby. But she didn't know anything about proper grip, stance, how to load a magazine, what a safety was. We even did a little of "this is how to find your dominant eye." She really like to shoot, did pretty well and started doing even better after a few rounds from a pistol that didn't kick. Got better as time progressed.

Just wonder what it takes to be a "Firearms Instructor" Nice tee shirt and a PD badge? The guy was nice, but he could have spent a bit more time working on a few basics with his class.

John fox
Regular contributor
Regular contributor

Re: Wanna be an Instructor? Send your boxtops in

Post by John fox » Sat Oct 21, 2006 6:59 pm

I've had exactly the same experience several times at my club. I think if I didn't do what you did, some of the shooters would have given up the sport.

greener

Post by greener » Sat Oct 21, 2006 7:22 pm