Newbie Shooter Fun

The place to discuss items of a general nature or items that do not fit into the other categories.

Moderators: Bullseye, Moderators

greener

Newbie Shooter Fun

Post by greener » Tue Feb 28, 2012 6:51 am

I had two husband-wife pairs next to me Sunday. The two ladies were shooting for the first time and one of the guys hadn't shot in 25 years. They were lucky to hit the 3x3 backer consistently, much less the target. I butted in and offered my .22's (MKII GC and Kimber .22 conversion) and ended up giving grip, stance and sight lessons. Observations:

12 yards is not the best distance to start new shooters, especially if one of the pistols is an LC9.

A glock 9mm compact (I'm not good with Glock namingclature) jams with Blazer brass with one shooter. Probably limp wristing. Didn't jam with my hotter loads.

The light trigger on my GC made one of the ladies nervous. The other loved it.

Always give a safety briefing before you start or you can get real excited when the pistol with the 2# trigger gets pointed at you, finger on the trigger, the second time.

One of the ladies kept telling her husband "we got to get one of those .22's."

They found out hitting the paper wasn't all that hard.

Bullseye
Site Admin/Host
Site Admin/Host

Post by Bullseye » Tue Feb 28, 2012 6:57 am

Working with new shooters can make an ordinary trip to the range very exciting. Expect the unexpected when assisting folks with a limited familiarity of firearms is a good motto. Sounds like everyone had an enjoyable time.

R,
Bullseye

Downeaster
Advanced contributor
Advanced contributor

Post by Downeaster » Tue Feb 28, 2012 7:41 am

Good on ya!
An empty weapon is just a very expensive hammer.

blue68f100
Master contributor
Master contributor

Post by blue68f100 » Tue Feb 28, 2012 9:26 am