bullseye CF on a budget.....

The place to discuss your favorite centerfire pistols.

Moderators: Bullseye, Moderators

cousin jack
Regular contributor
Regular contributor

bullseye CF on a budget.....

Post by cousin jack » Tue Jan 19, 2010 1:05 am

I'm an old high power and smallbore rifle shooter, but a new bullseye shooter....

I'm shooting a bullseye league inside with a Ruger 22/45 with Vol-kit, BSA red dot optic.... not more than 3C invested so far..... groups are tightening up some, and would like to try shooting outside, including .45.

Problem: I'm a retired educator, and my money isn't growing on trees. I have no .45 capable of bullseye, but I have a very good Colt Combat Commander, series 70.......

Could I cobble up a Frankenstein? Maybe a Caspian slide, match-quality barrel with fitted bushing in the Commander? Just enough to try it outside and see if I like it? Opinions?

Bullseye
Site Admin/Host
Site Admin/Host

Post by Bullseye » Tue Jan 19, 2010 6:30 am

Rather than invest in something that is only temporary and will not perform well you should talk with some of the other shooters in your league and see if one of them would be willing to lend you one of their back-up CF 1911s to see if you want to build your own later. Anyone who's been doing this a while has more than one and is willing to let a new shooter borrow their equipment to play the game. I always bring several to a match and more than a few times I've pulled one out of the box and handed it to someone who's gun broke on the line so they could continue.

R,
Bullseye

stork
Advanced contributor
Advanced contributor

commander modifications

Post by stork » Tue Jan 19, 2010 11:57 am

Jack,
My first recommendation would be the same as Bullseye's.

Your idea of modifying your commander is very possible but there may be some unintended consequences.