Adjust sights, or adjust me?

A section to discuss marksmanship issues: techniques, equipment, experiences, etc.

Also, a place to ask marksmanship related questions to seek information from the vast knowledge base of this forum's membership.

Moderators: Bullseye, Moderators

melchloboo
Regular contributor
Regular contributor

Adjust sights, or adjust me?

Post by melchloboo » Sat Mar 15, 2008 11:51 am

Yesterday at the range one of my mentors saw my target, where I had a nice tight grouping in 9-8 ring at 12 oclock. He adjusted my rear sight down one click (clockwise), my next 10 shots were in the 10-9 ring.

I told him I felt like that was cheating, that at this stage as a beginner I should fix whatever I am doing to be high. He explained that every session people do things slightly differently, and once you have good groupings it is ok to adjust sights during the session to accommodate for whatever gremlin you have that day...as long as its only one click in any direction.

Any thoughts on this "debate" for a beginner? Also, is there a chart somewhere on line that explains which way to turn the screws on various pistols to adjust sights, I've seen other people with this chart but can't find it anywhere.

recumbent
Advanced contributor
Advanced contributor

Post by recumbent » Sat Mar 15, 2008 2:28 pm

heres a chart
http://www.eohc.ca/sighting.htm

I would listen to what he told you.
"I seek not to know all the answers, but to understand the questions."
- Kwai Chang Caine -

recumbent
Advanced contributor
Advanced contributor

Post by recumbent » Sat Mar 15, 2008 2:31 pm

"I seek not to know all the answers, but to understand the questions."
- Kwai Chang Caine -

Bullseye
Site Admin/Host
Site Admin/Host

Post by Bullseye » Sat Mar 15, 2008 2:33 pm