Marlin 39a and Marlin Factory Repair - Not a happy tale

Discuss .22 Rifles.

Moderators: Bullseye, Moderators

bigislandbob

Marlin 39a and Marlin Factory Repair - Not a happy tale

Post by bigislandbob » Tue Jan 26, 2010 2:14 pm

A minor rant first - I am never going to buy another Marlin product. I would suggest that anyone considering buying a Marlin product read the rest of this post and then decide if they really want to buy endless trouble with no satisfaction. Rant off. Here are the facts. I have been shooting weapons now for over 40 years and caring for them for over 40 years. My four week old brand new 39a is currently at the Marlin repair place in CT. I drove it there on December 1st and gave the fellow a detailed written description of each problem along with varies spent brass to illustrate one of the many problems. He stated, "Seven to ten days and we'll have it back to you. Do you want us to mail it or do you want to pick it up?" It is now January 26th.

I bought a brand new 39a from a very large authorized Marlin dealer in East Hartford. During that time I experienced the following problems.
1. Failure to eject - brass would literally stick in chamber. It did not matter what manufacturer of ammo, 8 out of 10 would stick. Before anyone suggests polishing the chamber, see #3.
2. With a full cartridge tube the rounds would load. However the last five to six in the tube would 90% of the time not feed properly and the lever would stuck in the down position.
3. I took it to a local gunsmith and he discovered the chamber was out of round.
4. The carrier assembly has a peened in little spring thingie - this fell out and I replaced this part. Twice as the second one I bought from Marlin fell apart because the peening didn't hold.