Ruger MKIII pencil/fixed sight: mount option(s)?

Discuss .22 pistols.

Moderators: Bullseye, Moderators

wagon

Ruger MKIII pencil/fixed sight: mount option(s)?

Post by wagon » Tue Aug 24, 2010 10:16 am

Hi,

I'm a newbie to the site, and newbie to rimfire pistol. I recently purchased a Ruger SS 6" standard with fixed sight (which is in-transit), it will be my first rimfire handgun and probably will not be the last. :D

My aging eyesight relies on optic to shoot and I plan to add a red dot to it.. however, after searching around, it appears to me that all those non-D-T mounts are limited for models with adjustable rear sight only?

So for Standard model with fixed sight, what mount option(s) do I have? Am I limited to only Drill & Tap?

Thanks for the help.

Bullseye
Site Admin/Host
Site Admin/Host

Post by Bullseye » Tue Aug 24, 2010 10:29 am

Welcome to Guntalk-online!

The dovetail slot on the Ruger receiver is the same size for either the fixed or adjustable rear sights. You can drift out the rear sight and add in any of the non-gunsmith style sight rails. The Weigand Combat no gunsmithing sight mount rail would be perfect for your standard model. RS&C Weigand mount

R,
Bullseye

wagon

Post by wagon » Tue Aug 24, 2010 10:37 am

Bullseye, thanks for your fast reply to help this noob.. you've just made my day :D

I never knew that they shared the same dove tail, from the photos I could find from the web, the slot just LOOKS wider on those with adjustable rear.

Guess I'm all good to go :D

Thanks again!!

blue68f100
Master contributor
Master contributor

Post by blue68f100 » Tue Aug 24, 2010 3:27 pm

Wagon,

Welcome to GunTalk-Online

I can relate to the aging eyes. I have switched over to a Mueller Quick Shot reflex dot sight on my MKIII. I also have a 2x Bushnell scope for it too. The QS is very fast for target aquisition. Has plenty of brightness for use in bright sun light.
David